Healthy Dorm Breakfast

                 Moving back into my dorm room this past week has gotten me back into thinking of how to keep up healthy eating while living the college lifestyle. While it might be easier to go to the dining hall every day for food that is prepared for you, what you can do with only a few simple ingredients can be just as delicious while being a healthier alternative to dining hall food.

                 One of my favorite meals of the day is breakfast, with dessert a close second. For me I have trouble finding healthy breakfast options that I enjoy to eat. Pancakes might be tasty on special occasions, but they’ll really help put the pounds on if eaten too frequently. It also doesn’t help that I really don’t enjoy eating eggs. This week I decided to get over my dislike of eggs and try something new.

                 It was my first time ever trying to cook an omelette, but I thought it went pretty well. I used peppers, and american cheese, as well as pairing it with an english muffin and some jelly. I chose to use Farmers Cow eggs, because they were on sale, but any eggs your prefer would be just fine. Cooking might seem scary at first but hopefully this recipe will open up the possibility for you to start!

 

Cheese and Pepper Omelette with English Muffin

 

Ingredients:

  • ¼ of a red pepper diced
  • ¼ of a yellow pepper diced
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons of milk
  • 2 slices of American cheese (I like my eggs cheesy)
  • Light, whole wheat English Muffin
  • Butter
  • Strawberry Jelly

 

Directions:

  1. Dice the peppers and set aside
  2. Beat the eggs and milk together and pour into a lightly greased frying pan on medium heat.
  3. As the eggs start cooking add the peppers onto one half of the pan.
  4. Keeping an eye on the eggs, as they start to become fully cooked place the cheese onto the same side as the peppers. I used half slices of cheese to get the cheese on the entire half of the pan.
  5. Using a spatula, try and lift half of the omelette up from the pan and fold over the half with the peppers and cheese allowing to cook for a minute more.
  6. While the omelette is finishing, place the english muffin in the toaster and set to toast to your desired setting.
  7. Using the spatula transfer the omelette to your plate.
  8. Spread butter and jelly onto the english muffin.

 

                  This being my first omelette, the final product did not come out to look like an omelette but more like scrambled eggs. Don’t be discouraged, people go to school to learn to cook perfectly right? It will still taste the same even if it ends up being more scrambled than omelette. I accept the challenge to keep working on my technique to create the perfect omelette. Today, I’ll just enjoy my breakfast.

This is what my final product looked like.

026

3 thoughts on “Healthy Dorm Breakfast

  1. That sounds YUMMY! One of my favorites is to create a scramble (turning it over is tricky) using fresh: avocado, diced tomato, and shredded cheddar cheese just put over scrambled eggs. Its easy and good for you too! I look forward to seeing your adventures in dorm cooking!

    Like

  2. YUM! I love this blog idea, Amy. Breakfast is also my favorite meal and I’m glad to see you’re stepping out of your comfort zone and cooking something you are unfamiliar with. I hope to see more yummy recipes that I can try this semester also!

    Like

  3. It took me years to learn how to make an omelette “properly” and sometimes mine still turn out as a scramble! I think it tastes just as good. I had a hard time when I was eating in the cafeteria all of the time. The options were endless and I often made poor decisions. It’s great that you are making your own meals. You’ll continue to get better!

    Like

Leave a comment